Matthias Lino Schmidt

Matthias
Lino
Schmidt

Hi, and thanks for checking my website!

My name is Matthias, I am a German Cabinetmaker / Carpenter and Landscape Architect, currently residing in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

 
I am looking for work on all kinds of boat repairs in exchange for a crew position for the Atlantic crossing - willing and sufficiently solvent to share expenses, of course. If you are in need of repairs on your boat before embarking on your voyage, I would love to help with any work necessary, however long it takes to get ready - no rush whatsoever. If there is no need for repairs, that is fine, too! I am ready for immediate departure.

 
My sailing experience consists of a three day trip out of the Elbe river and into the coastal regions of the North Sea. During the trans-atlantic voyage, I can work in any fields necessary. I am a quick learner and used to demanding physical labour, while being able to quickly adapt to new situations.

 
 

ME IN THE FACE OF DANGER

Fully risk-aware in an abandonened amusement park near Chernobyl.

 
 

    RELEVANT SKILLS

  • woodworking of all kinds
  • metal work
  • paint, coat and sealing jobs
  • electric (and some electronic) repair, soldering
  • plumbing
  • sewing
  • cooking

 
 

    LANGUAGES

  • German (mother tongue)
  • English (fluent)
  • Spanish (fluent)
  • French (petit peu)

 
 

LATEST PROJECT

Full kitchen remodelling - cabinets, shelves and concrete countertops (not recommended for boats).

 
 

ABOUT ME

I am 35 years old, and a skilled craftsman in a variety of fields. Having been born and raised in Berlin, I know the benefits and disadvantages of living in a big city quite well. After high school I worked in a hospital as well as a kindergarden for civil service before travelling around Spain for 6 months.

 
I began the professional training as a cabinetmaker afterwards, which then lasted three years. In the year following the apprenticeship I worked as a freelance cabinetmaker on various projects. Always having wanted to also go to university, I went on to study Landscape Architecture.

 
For the past 5 years I have been working as a project manager in a Landscape Architecture firm. I quit my job to finally fulfill my dream of travelling across the Atlantic by boat.

 
 

    OTHER SKILLS AND HOBBIES

  • drawing, graphic & web design
  • slacklining
  • climbing
  • and last but not least: Footbag (see below)

 

 
 

MOTIVATION

I have always had a fascination for boats and ships, probably since the Lego days. As a child, I spent every other weekend on my grandfathers motor boat on the rivers and lakes of Berlin, mostly fishing and swimming. Since my grandfather died and the boat was sold, I never found easy access to being on the water again. Having always admired the lifestyle of sailors, I feel it is now the right time to be introduced into that world.

 
Another motiviation to cross the Atlantic by boat is the desire to understand the physical dimensions of the planet. Having travelled all the way to Wladiwostok on the Transsiberian Railway before, I now want to experience how that other half of the world feels when moving surface-bound. Fulfilling a life-long dream is another motivation ;)

 
 

RISKS & AWARENESS

I fully understand that crossing the Atlantic on a sailing vessel is no holiday cruise. Having talked to many people who have undertaken this or similar voyages, I think I have a proper understanding of what awaits me. I am physically fit, mentally stable, and both excited and prepared for this journey.

 

I can walk over water but not (yet) on it.

 
 

ONWARD TRAVEL

Depending on the location of arrival and the local immigration legislation, I am prepared to pay for an onward ticket to be granted entry into the country, or to prove the availabilty of sufficient funds for leaving the caribbean paradise in one way or another.

 
My actual final destination is MedellĂ­n, Colombia, where I will take part in the organization of the 38th annual World Footbag Championships.

 
 

AVAILABILTY

I am available for maintenance work and the following cruise any time now as of December 2019, with no determined end of my travels. I am committed to spending whatever time is necessary to get ready for the journey, and the journey itself.

 
 

CONTACT

You can contact me via telephone/SMS at +49 1573 899 83 53, find me under that same number on Telegram (but not WhatsApp), or send an email.

 
 

A younger me petting big white fluffs.